Seminar On Free Trade and Globalisation – The Hong Kong Experience in Retrospect and the Prospects

From left: Professor Anthony Y.H. Fung (CUHK), Professor Sung Yun Wing (CUHK), Mr Najeeb Haider (AIIB), Professor Fanny M.C. Cheung (CUHK), Professor Lawrence J. Lau (CUHK), Mr Edward Yau Tang-wah (HKSARG), Professor Richard Y.C. Wong (HKU), Ms Salina Yan (HKSARG), Mr Eduardo Pedrosa (PECC), Dr Patrick Low (HKU) and Professor Matthew Lee (HKCPEC)

The seminar on “Free Trade and Globalisation – The Hong Kong Experience in Retrospect and the Prospects” organised by the Trade and Industry Department and supported by APEC Study Centre, Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, was held successfully on 1st December 2017. Close to 200 participants attended the seminar.

In celebration of the 20th anniversary of establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, this seminar brought together leading scholars and business leaders to look at Hong Kong’s success in retrospect – and more importantly – to explore ways to sustain our success and set the standards even higher for the next 20 years and beyond.

Keynote Speech: Free Trade and Globalisation – Impacts on Hong Kong’s Economy

We are very privileged to have Prof. Lawrence J. Lau, Ralph and Claire Landau Professor of Economics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong and a leading economist, to deliver the Keynote Speech, entitled “Free Trade and Globalisation – Impacts on Hong Kong’s Economy”.

Other prominent speakers included Professor Fanny M.C. Cheung, SBS, OBE, JP; Mr Edward Yau Tang-wah, GBS, JP; Professor Richard Y.C. Wong, SBS, JP; Mr Najeeb Haider; Mr Eduardo Pedrosa; Professor Sung Yun Wing; Dr Jonathan KS Choi, GBS, BBS, JP; Mr Anthony John Liddell Nightingale, CMG, SBS, JP and Dr Patrick Low.

This seminar also featured display panels created by undergraduate students from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. These display panels showcased their research findings on salient issues surrounding Hong Kong’s economy in the past 20 years.

CUHK students with Professor Fanny M.C. Cheung, Mr Edward Yau Tang-wah, Ms Salina Yan, Professor Michael Fung, Dr Fred Ku and Dr Vinci Chow